Two and sometimes three and sometimes more …

30 Oct

… would be the best way to describe my work life over the past two months.

I have two, sometimes three, and sometimes more jobs.

To say I am working too hard would be an understatement, but the return on my efforts is still invisible.

That is the thing about making a time investment in your career – returns are not always tangible. It is the sort of investment that is only visible when you come across a task for which you are the better trained employee. It shows a return when you come upon a crisis and you’re the one equipped to handle it. It shows gains when you apply for a new position and you have something to market that sets you apart.

I am a communications intern at a wonderful not for profit. I do promotional work for an event marketing team. I model. I do freelance communications and design work.

Sleepy cat!!

I do not sleep enough. I do not party enough. I do not clean enough.

And I do my best to spend enough time with my very attention-needy cat, Nico.

But I dare not complain.

Paying your dues happens, most often, in your 20s because you still have gusto and energy that have not been tainted by cynicism.

Truth be told, I am enjoying it.

Yes, I complain about being tired and broke! All I hope is that my work ethic will yield great returns, even if the market continues to tank.

As long as I don't crash and burn before I've proven myself!
4 Responses to “Two and sometimes three and sometimes more …”

  1. Taylor Barr October 31, 2008 at 1:18 am #

    Kyla,

    Alas! your efforts to tell us what your doing through this blog- has resurrected. You bring up some very good points, although I would like to add a few of my opinions. You must remember that all careers do not heed proper returns regardless of the quality of work you put forth or the substantial, “edge” you might have over another. Competition, is in fact, relevant in all positions over all markets. What I want to make clear is that the work you do must have substantial pull to the product or service you provide. Especially in this downward economy and the fact companies are laying off folks all the time. But I digress…

    Your awesome friend,
    Taylor Barr

  2. kkryski October 31, 2008 at 7:47 pm #

    Hey Taylor,

    Thank you for your comment! I agree that competition is relevant in the work place! I guess the return I was really thinking about was monetary! I think one of the most awkward times, financially, is right in between school and career, which is where I am. It is an exciting and stressful transition time! (And I wrote this just before payday!)

  3. Dallas November 14, 2008 at 3:36 am #

    Hi Kyla,

    I came across your blog through my friend Jenn’s (the letter purple). I love your writing style and definitely relate to the stuff you write about. I look forward to following your blog!

  4. kkryski November 14, 2008 at 7:23 pm #

    Hey Dallas,
    Thank you for your comment! I look forward to writing more for you to read! I also look forward to reading yours!

Leave a Reply

