The adventures of an “accidental techie”

27 Nov

Originally posted Wednesday, June 18, 2008, before I decided to start over. But I like this one.

photo-51


The other day, my Online PR teacher called me an “accidental techie.”

Initially, I was confused by the thought. Nothing was accidental, I understand tech stuff and know how to eventually make things work.

Eventually.

Eventually is really the keyword to this whole thing.

I came to the realization one day that it was that eventuality that defined me as an accidental techie. My computer knowledge has come from a lot of experimenting and knowing that there is little I can do to really break the computer.

When it comes to other tech devices, the same thing goes! Really, they will only get broken when frustration kicks in and translates into literal kicks.

YOU WILL BREAK IT IF YOU KICK, THROW, PUNCH OR JUMP ON IT!!!

As for software, it can be a little trickier!! I really feel like the help menu/button that accompanies most software is TOO often overlooked! I am willing to expose myself as a chronic user of help menus if it means giving me a little extra time to work without questions!! 90 per cent of the questions people ask me about a program’s features can be found in the helper application!

The silver lining of laziness: I feel super smart and helpful when I give someone the right answer!

With that, I am trying to set up my own website. I have only had my domain name registered for 45 minutes and I have already contacted their support department.

I shouldn’t expose my secrets.

I do plan on continuing to stumble along and figure things out. The pride I lose in asking, I make up for in results.

I made this, and that is something to be proud of.

Blogged with the Flock Browser
6 Responses to “The adventures of an “accidental techie””

  1. mikewalzman November 27, 2008 at 12:54 am #

    Well good luck with your site, and to your new beginning. It seems great so far! I just started my own website too and have been learning this new world social media as well. I wish you all the best.

  2. Taylor Barr November 27, 2008 at 5:56 am #

    Your writing rocks. In relation to the post, I do have to say that several help menus I have used, DO have the right answers- just the user interface prevents me from finding what I need to know. And I completely agree about experimenting to find the right solution. I feel as if our generation is a little more practical in finding answers… especially before we start kicking the tires.

    Nice work. Keep writing and I will keep reading.

    Regards,

    “The only one who reads your blog and comments” – Taylor Barr

  3. kkryski November 27, 2008 at 6:26 pm #

    Thanks, Taylor!

    The interface is often the problem! Especially with certain features: you need to know what they are to know where to look for the help!

    As always, thank you for reading and commenting! haha

  4. kkryski November 27, 2008 at 6:28 pm #

    Hey Mike!
    Thanks for your comment!! All of this stuff can be exciting and overwhelming! Good luck with your site as well!

  5. James Delong December 6, 2008 at 9:44 pm #

    “help menu/button that accompanies most software is TOO often overlooked!”
    Thank You! I was in the network admin field for many years and you’d be surprise how many things users could have fixed themselves simply by clicking help.

    Companies (and people like me) spend many hours making help features available and I am not sure why the majority of people don’t use it.

    Anyways, I wanted to comment on this site and tell ya it looks really nice and this is the best way to learn.. just by doing.

    So goodluck in your ventures and if you need help.. well there’s a wordpress help forum.

    J/k you can always reach out to me and ask.

  6. kkryski December 8, 2008 at 6:52 pm #

    Hey James,

    Thanks for the comment! It is because of your hard work and those like you that I can even have this conversation, and for that I say thanks! I think it was said before but sometimes the problem is not even knowing what to ask to get the right answer!

    Thanks for the well wishes and if I find the wordpress help forum lacking, you’ll be my next point of contact!

Leave a Reply

