“Hello!” from the Capital city!

31 Mar

“Hello!” from the Capital city!, originally uploaded by kkryski.

So I have a few minutes to breathe!

I’m listen to Marilyn Manson’s Beautiful People (à la Big Shiny Tunes 2) and lying on my extra comfortable king sized bed in a beautiful castle in downtown Ottawa (Fairmont Château Laurier).

I’m lucky to be here but nervously awaiting the purpose of my trip: the CWC 2009 Annual Awards Gala.

I didn’t win an award.

I work at CWC and have spent the last few weeks working on one of the most challenging projects of my (not-so-long) career.

This project is also why I have been on a sort of internet hiatus, as I had brought my home computer to the office to work on this project.

My manager and I were given the honour of creating “videos” to welcome eight of the nine award winners to the stage.

We had little to work with and, with this being the inaugural year of the CWC Excellence in Leadership award, we had few guidlines and no real idea where we were going.

Our award winners are amazing individuals who have accomplished great things in their careers. I’m excited to be blessed with the chance to meet them.

So my nervousness comes from my hope that the rabbit we pulled out of the hat in this project I thought of as a sort of Mission Impossible will do our winners justice. We did our best, as communicators and story tellers, to do right by them and to share a short snippet of their awesomeness – something that could never be summed up in a 45 second clip.

My sincerest congratulations to Excellence in Leadership winners Nyla Ahmad, Rochelle Grayson, Lesley McFarlane, Robin Mcintyre, Annie Ménard, Margot Micallef and Susan Wood; Employer of the Year Xerox Canada Ltd. and Woman of the Year Susanne Boyce!!

Leave a Reply

